..THEORY OF NOT JOINING..

Dennis Hatfield
3 min readMar 9, 2024

--

Did you ever get into a situation, because you said “yes,” and deep down you wanted no part of it? Could be anything, clubs, schools, church, anything where you have become low man or woman on the totem pole. When I was a freshman in high school I thought it might be cool to join DeMolay, MYF, and a couple of high school clubs because I thought that was what I was supposed to do. But I soon realized that besides being a bunch of bullshit, I was getting a lesson in giving away my own personal time and creating stressful situations that I didn’t want to deal with. It has always been hard for me to say “No,” so I found myself walking around on a constant guilt trip. If you say yes and tell someone you can take care of it and you can’t because you don’t have the time, it’s harsh and can be hard to explain. Responsibility is a lesson that we all have to learn in our way and most of us have to learn it the hard way! Your dad says, “mow the lawn!” Your mom says, “Take out the garbage, and while you’re at it, take your laundry downstairs!” Sound familiar? What I’m trying to say is day to day- life gives me enough to do without voluntarily piling on by joining any type of organization that piles more stress on me!

--

--