..THE YEAR OF THE BOAR..

Dennis Hatfield

--

I don’t know why, but started thinking about the year of my birth. 1947 in the Chinese calendar, and its twelve year cycle, I am a pig, as those who are born in 2019. There are many nice things I could say about people who are born in the Year of the Pig, like they are kind hearted, honest, and strong, but let’s just say it’s been nice to have been born, and leave it at that.

The reason I bring this up is that it wasn’t that long ago, or maybe it was, that being called a pig was not all that complementary, and I haven’t been able to figure out why the term has not been used in our presence situation to describe our leaders. I do recognize that in the late sixties the term “Pig” was used to describe some cruel policemen, and also was a feminist term describing misogynistic ass holes, so why is it not being used today?

I vividly remember Eldridge Clever and Angela Davis using the term “pig”, or “the pigs”, and I think everyone knew who and what they were talking about. Then we come to the phrase “Male Chauvinistic Pig”! Let me see, hummm, how and who could I use to describe that phrase?

I think that I used the term, something like, “Jesus man, keep that shit stashed!!! We could get busted by the Pigs!!!” Maybe 1967 or 68, holy shit, that was a long time ago! The point is, I haven’t heard that term or phrase used for years, and now, it appears to me, it’s so appropriate. Pigs ruling the border, pigs are still shooting black people, pigs are still raping women and children, pigs are in control of the senate, pigs are in control of our cabinet positions, and one thing that is a little different, we have now identified some females who are definitely pigs in the political and racial sense, though I’m sure they were always around.

So, for those of us that were born in The Year of the Pig, let your compassion flow, be kind to others, and don’t feed at the “trump trough”of hate, bigotry, lies, deception, and old fashioned male chauvinistic pigdom!🐖🐷🐽

--

--