Dennis Hatfield
3 min readFeb 25, 2019

..THE WIZARD SPEEKS..

There was a time I envied the people who believed in the illusion of standing on solid ground. It took a while to figure out nothing stays the same. I was in my late twenties when I started to realize that, as Delbert McClinton would say, “I’m standing on shaky ground”, or as Morrison would say, “The end is always near”. My youthful exuberance and discovery of my own mortality and responsibilities started to temper the way I lived my day to day life. You find out that there is a yin and yang to everything!

Self doubt is the most insidious, depressing, and widespread diseases that has infected all of us, all our lives. Many may say that self doubt is a first world problem, but I think it’s much deeper than that. Self doubt is a humanitarian plague that has the possibility of destroying a society from the inside out, like a cancer and everything that goes with it. It’s happened before!

I’d love to talk about the burning fire and passion of living day to day, feeling my own heart beat, feeling the clean air pass through my mouth and nose, and not taking it for granted, but life is complicated, wouldn’t you agree? Self doubt sets in and we forget about ourselves. We forget about our health, we forget how to give and receive love, we forget our dreams, we forget about our personal freedom, and the terminal aspect of self doubt is loosing our will to go on. Thank goodness, most of us just go on.

In my experience there is no cure for self doubt. Like learning how to deal with loneliness, learning how to deal with self doubt is a life long process. STOP! Take a deep breath, close your eyes, clear your mind, let your lower jaw relax, count and take eight easy breaths, then go on. Easy to say, but it takes discipline and practice to try to overcome self doubt.

I may be the wizard, but to tell the truth I’m just a lonely voice in the wilderness,the real wizard is a pro!The real wizard has the ability to spread self doubt all over this world. I’ve been thinking about this for quite some time and I’ve come to the conclusion that when a society thinks that truth is not true strange things start to happen.

If you really believe this wizard has our best interests at heart, let me give you some self doubt. His investment in sowing the seeds of populism, and racist nationalism is now at work in Europe, the Middle East, and the United States. The attack on our social media has given all of us a potential lethal dose of self doubt. Who’s in charge to stop him?

To be honest, I don’t remember asking Russia for their help, do you? Seems easy enough to explain, Russia wants the real estate of Eastern Europe, and trump and his greedy family want the money. Self doubt does not affect malignant sociopathic narcissists. They thrive on eating us alive, they thrive on their own lies, it gets scarier, but suffice to say more is never enough. Maybe we will find a hero over the next two years. Someone who can overcome the obstacles of self doubt and walls. What we need is clean air, clean water, respect for the planet, respect for each other, respect for the truth, and a fearless ability to deal with our own self doubt.