Dennis Hatfield
3 min readApr 21, 2019

--

Richard, My introduction to the Doors was in the summer of 1965, if my memory serves me correctly. My mother was taking a summer course at the University of Oregon in Eugene and brought my sister along for the ride. When they got home all my sister could talk about was this LA band she had seen at a concert on campus. At the time she was 15 or 16 years old. This was also before the release of Light My Fire or the first album. So I was a fan before I ever heard a note of music.

As far as Morison is concerned, and the 27 club, he really was the guy who opened my eyes to the fact that there is more to it than All You Need Is Love. I also think that through his lyrics and poetry his ecological warnings and his sense of desperation about the state of Mother Earth are gravely over looked and under appreciated. It’s obvious Jim Morison was no angel and he was a self destructive force that band mates, friends, and people who were close to him couldn’t stop. But that has become part of the mystery, myth, and misinterpreted romance of his short life. It’s still funny to me that when you get into a conversation about the Doors or Morison with others, especially older women, you find your self trying to defend the artistic nature of the band and Morison, over all the negative antics that went on as they were becoming rock stars.

Four guys met, four guys had talent, they were in the right place at the right time, they worked their asses off in the clubs in LA, and they made it! Interesting that one of them was an introvert poet that questioned authority, had addictive tendencies, and deep ideas. I personally think he was an ecological profit and every time I listen to the Doors I walk on down the hall.

Over the years I have collected a few pieces of Doors memorabilia just for me. I love all types of music but I’m still hung in the 60’s and I’m still hanging on the Doors.

--

--