AN OLD WHITE MAN REMEMBERERS JOHN LEWIS

Dennis Hatfield
2 min readJul 27, 2020

--

I’m not a card carrying Buddhist, nor am I religious, in the biblical sense. But when you deal with life and death, coming to grips with some sense of spirituality, at least in my case, was a necessity. Life can be so confusing and complicated, there are seldom any simple answers that help us find our way to just take one step at a time.

But I was thinking about John Lewis, and who he reminded me of. A son of a simple farmer, who now lies in state in Washington DC, used his eighty years with a lot of courage and patients! The words he used to express himself were always straight forward and simple, but his words always struck a deeper cord, a deeper meaning, a sole searching intent. He reminds me of the Dalai Lama. It’s like when someone asks a long, deep question about the meaning of life, the Dalai Lama smiles and answers, “what we all need is to be more warm hearted.” John Lewis would say, “get into good trouble.” RIP

--

--