Dennis Hatfield
1 min readMay 13, 2024

--

After dealing with pain management and trying to help patients dealing with chronic pain for almost fifty years I’ve come to several conclusions. Number one is I’m glad I’m now retired! Number two, just like a diabetic, who needs insulin, or people with heart conditions who need their medication to maintain their heart rate and blood pressure, there are many patients suffering with chronic pain who need their medications to improve their quality of life! There is a vast difference between addiction and dependence. This difference is not understood by the majority of people including physicians and pharmacists. Unfortunately, like the last line in Ecclesiastics nine, one bad apple can spoil the whole works, I’m paraphrasing. But my point is, people who are dependent on medications to improve their quality of life should never be judged as addicts or drug seekers , but shown respect and compassion for their courage to go on!

--

--